loader image for Bangladeshinfo


  • DU ‘Kha’ unit result published, 9.87% pass

  • Concert for flood-hit people at DU on Monday and Tuesday

  • Biman’s Dhaka-Toronto flight will finally take off from Jul 27

  • Govt bans plying of motorcycle on Padma Bridge

  • Bangladesh win FIFA Int'l Women's Football Series

Khan Ahmed Shuvo takes oath as MP

Khan Ahmed Shuvo takes oath as MP

Newly elected Member of Parliament (MP) from  the Tangail-7 constituency, Khan Ahmed Shuvo took the oath at the Jatiyo Sangsad Bhaban on Saturday (Jan 22). Jatiyo Sangsad Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the oath to Khan Ahmed Shuvo elected in the by-poll with the ruling Awami League's ticket.

Additional Secretary of the Parliament Secretariat Tandra Shikder conducted the swearing-in ceremony. Chief Whip Noor-E-Alam Chowdhury was present at the function, local media reported citing a JS press release.

After taking oath, Shuvo signed the oath book as part of the traditional ceremony for the lawmakers.

Ruling Bangladesh Awami League candidate Khan Ahmed Shuvo won the by-polls to Tangail-7 (Mirzapur), defeating Jatiyo Party's candidate Jahirul Islam Jahir on Jan 16.

The parliamentary seat fell vacant after the death of Awami League lawmaker Ekabbar Hossain on Nov 16 last year.