loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • France provides 2.06m AZ vaccine doses to Bangladesh

  • Pakistan beat Tigers in first Test

  • Bangabandhu Int'l Challenge badminton begins Wednesday

  • Dhaka University's centenary celebration begins Wednesday

  • NBR extends tax return submission deadline up to Dec 31

CSK beat KKR by 27 runs to clinch fourth IPL title

CSK beat KKR by 27 runs to clinch fourth IPL title

Indian Premier League final, Dubai
Chennai Super Kings 192-3 (20 overs): Du Plessis 86 (59); Moeen 37no (20); Narine 2-26
Kolkata Knight Riders 165-9 (20 overs): Gill 51 (43), Iyer 50 (32); Thakur 3-38, Hazlewood 2-29
Chennai Super Kings won by 27 runs

Chennai Super Kings beat Kolkata Knight Riders by 27 runs to win its fourth IPL title in Dubai on Friday (Oct 15) night.

Chennai Super Kings have been crowned Indian Premier League champions for the fourth time after beating Kolkata Knight Riders by 27 runs in the final.

Faf du Plessis hit a terrific 86 off 59 balls and Moeen Ali scored a 20-ball 37 as Chennai posted 192-3 from 20 overs.

Shubman Gill (51 off 43) and Venkatesh Iyer (50 off 32) hit half-centuries before Kolkata collapsed, losing eight wickets for 34 runs in Dubai.

Captain Eoin Morgan managed just four as Kolkata reached 165-9.

Chennai, led by captain MS Dhoni, add another trophy to the cabinet, having won the IPL in 2010, 2011 and 2018.

Dhoni refused to say after whether he was going to retire or play another season, but added that "I haven't left it behind yet" when told he could be proud of his legacy.

For two-time winners KKR, it is a disappointing end after a brilliant comeback in this year's competition.

KKR were second from bottom when the tournament resumed in the United Arab Emirates last month, after it was suspended in May because of a surge in coronavirus cases in India.