loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • 16th National Wushu Championship begins Thursday

  • Elton John tests positive for Covid, postpones Farewell Tour

  • Ashleigh Barty to face Madison Keys in semi-final

  • Morocco into last eight with Malawi win

  • Senegal reach last eight as Mane scores

Pran Gopal Dutta elected unopposed MP in Cumilla-7 by-polls

Pran Gopal Dutta elected unopposed MP in Cumilla-7 by-polls

Dr Pran Gopal Dutta, former Vice-Chancellor of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Medical University (BSMMU), the ruling Bangladesh Awami League nominee has been declared the winner unopposed in Cumilla-7 (Chandina) by-polls. Cumilla Regional Election Officer Md. Dulal Talukder issued a notification in this regard on Monday (Sep 20), local media reported.

Dr Pran Gopal has been declared winner as yesterday, the last day for withdrawal of nomination papers, two out of the three candidates withdrew their nomination papers, Md. Dulal Talukder said.

The by-polls was scheduled to be held on Oct 7.

Earlier on Sep 16, Jatiyo Party candidate Lutfur Reza Khokon, who is also the central vice chairman and party convener of Cumilla District (North), withdrew his nomination, ditching the election race. Later, National Awami Party (NAP) candidate Monirul Islam withdrew his nomination on Saturday (Sep 18).

The constituency fell vacant after the death of Cumilla-7 constituency Awami League lawmaker and former Deputy Speaker Ali Ashraf on Jul 30.