loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • 16th National Wushu Championship begins Thursday

  • Elton John tests positive for Covid, postpones Farewell Tour

  • Ashleigh Barty to face Madison Keys in semi-final

  • Morocco into last eight with Malawi win

  • Senegal reach last eight as Mane scores

Habibur Rahman wins Sylhet-3 by-election

Habibur Rahman wins Sylhet-3 by-election

The by-election to Sylhet-3 constituency was held on Saturday (Sep 4). The seat fell vacant after parliamentarian Mahmud Us Samad Chowdhury died of coronavirus on Mar 11. Bangladesh Awami League candidate Habibur Rahman Habib won with 90,064 votes, while JP candidate Atiqur Rahman Atik earned the second highest number of votes – 24,752.

BNP rebel Shafi Ahmed Chowdhury got 5,136 votes while Bangladesh Congress candidate Junayed Mohammad Miah got 640. No other BNP candidate participated in the polls.

EVMs (electronic voting machines) were used in all centres, which confused many voters. However, they were happy as there were no long queues, local media reported.