loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Inter coach Simone Inzaghi tests positive for Covid-19

  • Battling Nadal into Melbourne semis

  • Deadly crush reported at Africa Cup of Nations

  • Balotelli named in Italy squad for first time since 2018

  • Howell shines as Chattogram grab 2nd win in BPL

Awami League nominates candidates for by-polls to 3 constituencies

Awami League nominates candidates for by-polls to 3 constituencies

Bangladesh Awami League has nominated its candidates for contesting the by-elections to Dhaka-14, Sylhet-3 and Cumilla-5 constituencies of the Jatiyo Sangsad.

The candidates were finalized at a meeting of the Awami League’s parliamentary board at the Prime Minister’s official residence Ganobhaban here today, said a press release signed by the Awami League office secretary Barrister Biplob Barua.

Awami League Parliamentary Board President Sheikh Hasina presided over the meeting.

As per the decision of the meeting, Aga Khan Mintu, president of Shah Ali Thana unit of Awami League, will contest the by-polls in Dhaka-14 constituency.

Habibur Rahman, district Awami League member, and Abul Hashem Khan, president of Burichang Upazila unit of Awami League, will fight for Sylhet-3 and Cumilla-5 constituencies respectively.

The Election Commission will hold by-elections to these three parliamentary constituencies – Dhaka-14, Cumilla-5 and Sylhet 3 – on Jul 14.