loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Napoli continue perfect start to top Serie A with win over Udinese

  • Barca 1-1 Granada

  • Pele: I'm feeling better every day

  • Pran Gopal Dutta elected unopposed MP in Cumilla-7 by-polls

  • PM calls for global roadmap to achieve SDGs fighting Coronavirus

By-polls to Dhaka-14, Sylhet-3, Cumilla-5 on Jul 14

By-polls to Dhaka-14, Sylhet-3, Cumilla-5 on Jul 14

The by-elections to Dhaka-14, Sylhet-3, and Cumilla-5 constituencies will be held on Jul 14. Bangladesh Election Commission Senior Secretary Md Humayun Kabir Khandaker announced the schedule following a meeting at Nirbachan Bhaban, Agargaon in the capital on Wednesday, local media reported.

According to the schedule, the deadline for submission of nomination paper is Jun 15 while nomination papers will be selected on Jun 17, the last day for withdrawal is Jun 23, and symbols will be allotted on Jun 24.

The seats became vacant as Awami League MP of Dhaka-14 Aslamul Haque died on Apri 4 and a five-time lawmaker from Cumilla-5 Abdul Matin Khasru died on Apri 14 Dhaka and Sylhet-3 MP Mahmud Us Samad died on Mar 11.

The commission postponed all elections from Mar 1 last due to the increase of the coronavirus infection in the country.