loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Awami League's 72nd founding anniversary celebrated

  • Late goal gives Brazil Copa America win over Colombia

  • Spain thrash Slovakia, Sweden beat Poland to top group

  • Ronaldo scores 109th international goal to equal record

  • France top group as Ronaldo equals record

Bayern win Bundesliga after RB Leipzig lose

Bayern win Bundesliga after RB Leipzig lose

Bayern Munich have won their ninth consecutive Bundesliga title thanks to RB Leipzig’s 3-2 defeat to Borussia Dortmund on Saturday which came before Hansi Flick’s side kicked off their match with Borussia Monchengladbach.

Bayern Munich secured a record-extending ninth consecutive Bundesliga title on Saturday (May 8) without kicking a ball, after RB Leipzig’s 3-2 defeat at Borussia Dortmund kept the Bavarians seven points clear with two games left for their rivals.

Celebrations, however, will have to wait until after their own game against Borussia Moenchengladbach later on Saturday, with Thomas Mueller and David Alaba becoming the first Bundesliga players to win 10 league titles.

Bayern, who have now won 30 Bundesliga titles since the introduction of the top division in 1963, and 31 German league crowns in total, are on 71 points. Leipzig stayed second on 64.

Dortmund’s Jadon Sancho scored twice, including an 87th- minute winner to beat Leipzig, who have yet to seal their Champions League spot for next season.

Bayern enjoyed less success this season than their six-trophy winning run in 2019-20 but they remained the most consistent team in the league led by striker Robert Lewandowski who has netted 36 league goals.

The Pole is chasing Gerd Mueller’s 1971-72 all-time league record of 40 goals in one campaign.

It is a second consecutive league crown for coach Hansi Flick, who is leaving Bayern at the end of the season and will be replaced by Julian Nagelsmann.