loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Napoli continue perfect start to top Serie A with win over Udinese

  • Barca 1-1 Granada

  • Pele: I'm feeling better every day

  • Pran Gopal Dutta elected unopposed MP in Cumilla-7 by-polls

  • PM calls for global roadmap to achieve SDGs fighting Coronavirus

Fifth phase of municipality polls on Feb 28

Fifth phase of municipality polls on Feb 28

The fifth phase of municipality elections will be held on Feb 28 next as the Election Commission on Tuesday (Jan 18) announced the polls schedule to 31 more municipalities. Election Commission Secretariat senior secretary Md Alamgir announced the election schedule at Nirbachan Bhaban at the city’s Agargaon, local media reported.

According to the election schedule, the last date for nomination papers submission in these municipalities is Feb 2 next, while the papers scrutiny will be on Feb 4, the last date of nominations withdrawal is Feb 11 and symbols will be allotted on Feb 12.

Elections to be held in the 31 municipalities in the fifth phase are: Rangunia, Raozan, Mirsarai and Bariarhat of Chattogram, Raipur of Laxmipur, Nachol of Chapainawabganj, Habiganj municipality, Dewanganj, Islampur, Madarganj and Jamalpur Sadar of Jamalpur district, Charghat and Durgapur of Rajshahi, Bagura Sadar, Singair of Manikganj, Matlab and Shaharasti of Chandpur, Keshabpur and Jashore Sadar of Jashore district, Shibchar and Madaripur Sadar of Madaripur, Haragach of Rangpur, Brahmanbaria Sadar of Brahmanbaria, Kaliganj and Maheshpur of Jhenaidah, Joypurhat Sadar of Joypurhat, Nandail of Mymensingh, Bhola Sadar of Bhola district and Kaliganj of Gazipur.

Alamgir said the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will be used in all the municipalities of this phase and there will be no general holiday on the day of elections.

Voting will continue from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. without any interval, he said.

Replying to a question, the Election Commission secretary said people’s confidence in EVM use has increased and that is why they are standing in long queues to give their votes.

There are 329 municipalities in the country. Elections to 24 municipalities were held in first phase on Dec 28, while 60 municipalities on Jan 16 in second phase.

Polls will be held in 64 municipalities on Jan 30 next in third phase, while 56 municipalities on Feb 14 in fourth phase.