loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Bangladesh reports 4,014 fresh cases, 98 Covid deaths in 24 hours

  • Rain, thundershowers with gusts likely, hailstorm in some places

  • Man City move closer to Premier League title

  • Inter Milan edge closer to Serie A title

  • Benzema double takes Real level at the top

Third phase elections to 64 municipalities on Jan 30

Third phase elections to 64 municipalities on Jan 30

The third phase elections to 64 municipalities under different districts will be held on Jan 30. The last date for nomination paper submission is Dec 31, while scrutiny of nomination papers will be held on Jan 3 and the deadline for candidature withdrawal is Jan 10. Bangladesh Election Commission Senior Secretary Md Alamgir announced the schedule on Monday (Dec 14), local media reported.

Earlier, the Election Commission announced schedule for first and second phase of the municipality polls. First phase polls to 25 municipalities will be held on Dec 28 and polls to 61 municipalities will be held on Jan 16 in the second phase.

The 64 municipalities of the third phase include – Gobindaganj in Gaibandha, Dhamoirhat in Naogaon, Gopalganj in Sylhet, Dhanut, Gabtoli, Shibganj, Nandigram and Kahalu in Bogura, Mundumala and Keshorhat in Rajshahi, Moulvibazar Sadar, Kotchandpur in Jhenaidah, Morrelganj in Bagerhat, Chauddagram, Laksam and Barura in Cumilla, Haziganj in Chandpur, Feni Sadar, Munshiganj Sadar, Nakla in Sherpur, Singra in Natore, Darshana in Chuadanga, Nalchity in Jhalakathi, Durgapur in Netrokona, Manirampur in Jashore, Hatia and Chowmuhani in Noakhali, Ramganj in Lakshmipur, Katiadi in Kishoreganj, Tungipara in Gopalganj, Naria, Zajira and Bhedarganj in Shariatpur.