loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Bangladesh records highest Covid-19 deaths, cases in a day

  • Govt decides to establish three more new upazilas

  • Osaka sweeps into third round at Olympics

  • China reports 76 virus cases, highest daily rise since January

  • Tigers seal T20 series to end Zimbabwe tour

Awami League candidates win Dhaka-18, Sirajganj-1 by-elections

Awami League candidates win Dhaka-18, Sirajganj-1 by-elections

Bangladesh Awami League candidates Mohammad Habib Hasan and Tanvir Shakil Joy have won the two parliamentary by-elections to Dhaka-18 and Sirajganj-1 constituencies respectively amid a low voter turnout.

The by-polls were held using electronic voting machines (EVMs) on Thursday (Nov 12), local media reported.

Sirajganj-1 constituency fell vacant after the death of former health minister and Awami League MP Mohammed Nasim on Jun 13. Dhaka-18 constituency fell vacant following the death of former home minister and Awami League MP Sahara Khatun on Jul 9.

In Dhaka-18, Habib was unofficially elected, beating his nearest rival BNP’s SM Jahangir Hossain by a huge margin of over 70,000 votes amid a low turnout.

Habib got 75,820 votes, while Jahangir bagged only 5,369, according to the unofficial election result announced by Returning Officer ZM Sahatab Uddin.

Jatiyo Party contestant Md Nasir Uddin Sarkar got 325 votes, Gano Front’s Kazi Md Shahidullah 126 votes, Bangladesh Congress’s Md Umar Faruk 91 votes and PDP’s Md Mohibullah Bahar 87 votes.