loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Depression over Bay to bring more rains in the country

  • Bayern hammer Atletico 4-0

  • Own goal gives Liverpool win over Ajax

  • Man City fight back to beat Porto 3-1

  • Spain records one million Covid-19 cases

Awami League candidates win Dhaka-5, Naogaon-6 by-polls

Awami League candidates win Dhaka-5, Naogaon-6 by-polls

Awami League-backed candidates have been unofficially elected in the by-polls to Dhaka-5, Naogaon-6 constituencies as the concerned Returning Officers declared the results after counting the votes in the evening.

Bangladesh Awami League candidates Kazi Monirul Islam and Md Anwar Hossain Helal have won the by-elections to Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 constituencies.

In Dhaka, Monirul Islam bagged 45,642 votes while his nearest rival the BNP’s Salahuddin Ahmed received only 2,926 votes.

In Naogaon, Anwar Hossain secured 105,521 votes, beating the BNP’s Sheikh Md Rezaul Islam who finished the race with 4,605 votes.

Voting in both elections began at 9:00 a.m. on Saturday (Oct 17) and continued uninterrupted till 5:00 p.m. However, the voter turnout was noticeably low, local media reported.

The seats became vacant after the death of Habibur Rahman Mollah in Dhaka on May 8 and Israfil Alam in Naogaon on Jul 28.