loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Depression over Bay to bring more rains in the country

  • Bayern hammer Atletico 4-0

  • Own goal gives Liverpool win over Ajax

  • Man City fight back to beat Porto 3-1

  • Spain records one million Covid-19 cases

By-elections of Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 seats going on

By-elections of Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 seats going on

Voting for the by-elections in two parliamentary constituencies – Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 – is going on through using Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs), local media reported.

The voting of the two seats began at 9 a.m. and will continue till 5 p.m. without any break, according to the Election Commission.

In Dhaka-5 seat under the Dhaka South City Corporation (DSCC), the voting is being held in 187 polling stations where a total of four lakh 71 thousand 129 voters of 14 wards are enlisted to cast their votes to elect their lawmaker.

Meanwhile, voting of Naogaon-6 constituency – comprising Raninagar and Atrai – is being held in 104 polling stations under 16 unions. The total number of voters in this constituency is three lakh six thousand 725.

According to reports, voting is being held in a peaceful manner and the EC has taken all necessary preparations for holding the polls in a fair and peaceful environment.

A total of six candidates are contesting in Dhaka-5 constituency by-election. They are – Bangladesh Awami League backed M Kazi Monirul Islam, BNP nominated Salah Uddin Ahmed, Gonofront backed HM Ibrahim Bhuiyan, Jatiyo Party nominated Mir Abdus Sabur, M Ansar Rahman Shikder of Bangladesh Congress and M Arifur Rahman alias Suman Master of Bangladesh Peoples Party.

Besides, three candidates are vying for Naogaon-6 constituency by-election. They are – M Anwar Hossain (Helal) nominated by AL, BNP nominated Sheikh Mohammad Rezaul Islam and the National People’s Party’s Khandaker Intekhab Alam.

The seats became vacant after the death of Habibur Rahman Mollah in Dhaka on May 8 and Israfil Alam in Naogaon on Jul 28.

In order to maintain the law and order situation, two Judicial Magistrates and 14 Executive Magistrates have been serving in the Dhaka-5 elections since Oct 15. At the same time, the same number of Judicial Magistrates and Executive Magistrates are performing their duties in Naogaon by-polls.

Additional members of the law enforcement agencies have been deployed in the electoral areas.