loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Liverpool fight back to beat Arsenal 3-1

  • French Open: Serena overcomes slow start to win

  • Nadal and Thiem up and running at French Open

  • BB further relaxes loan repayments until Dec 31

  • Global Covid-19 death toll passes one million

JaPa announces candidates for Dhaka-5, Naogaon-6 by-polls

JaPa announces candidates for Dhaka-5, Naogaon-6 by-polls

Jatiyo Party on Saturday (Sep 12) announced the names of its candidates for Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 by-elections. The party nominated its presidium member Mir Abdus Sabur Asud and its Raninagar upazila unit president Kazi Golam Kabir as the candidates of ‘Plough’ in the Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 by-elections respectively, said a party press release.

Jatiyo Party’s nomination board, led by its chairman GM Quader, picked the two candidates after taking interviews of the aspirants who submitted their nomination papers aiming to contest the by-polls.

On Sep 7, Bangladesh Awami League picked Monirul Islam Monu for Dhaka-5 and Mohammad Anawar Hossain Helal for Naogaon-6 as its candidates, local media reported.

The Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 parliamentary seats fell vacant following the death of Awami League MPs Habibur Rahman Molla and Israfil Alam respectively.

According to a schedule declared by the Election Commission on Sep 3, the by-elections to the two vacant seats will be held on Oct 17.