loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Bangladesh reports 1,493 new Covid cases, 23 deaths

  • Coronavirus cases hit all-time high weekly number of over 2.8 m

  • US-Bangla starts operating flights to Chennai, Kolkata

  • Aguero doubtful for Liverpool game with thigh injury

  • Air pollution linked to 15 percent of Covid-19 deaths: study

Awami League candidates win by-polls to Bogura-1, Jashore-6

Awami League candidates win by-polls to Bogura-1, Jashore-6

Ruling Bangladesh Awami League candidates won Bogura-1 and Jashore-6 by-elections on Tuesday (Jul 14) amid coronavirus situation and boycott by the Bangladesh Nationalist Party. Awami League candidate Sahadara Mannan in Bogura-1 and Shahin Chakladar in Jashore-6 were unofficially declared elected by returning officers.

Bangladesh Awami League nominated candidates have been unofficially elected in the by-polls to the Bogura-1 and the Jashore-6 constituencies as the concerned Returning Officers declared the results after counting the votes in the evening, local media reported.

Awami League nominated candidate to the Bogura-1 constituency Sahadara Mannan Shilpi, wife of late Abdul Mannan, MP, has been elected Member of Parliament (MP) unofficially defeating her nearest rival independent candidate Yeasir Rahmatullah Intaj with huge margin.

Returning Officer and Bogura district Senior Election Officer Mahbubul Alam Shah declared the result after counting the votes.

Shilpi, also Sariakandi upazila Awami League president, bagged 1,45,295 votes while her nearest rival got 1,599 votes.

Besides, in the by-polls to the Jashore-6 constituency, Awami League nominated candidate Shahin Chaklader has also been unofficially elected MP defeating his nearest BNP nominated candidate Abul Hossain Azad, who declared not to contest in the poll before voting day.

Returning Officer and Jashore district Senior Election Officer Md Humayun Kabir announced the results after counting the votes.

Shahin Chaklader, also Jashore district Awami League general secretary, bagged 1,24,003 votes while his rival Azad, also BNP’s central committee member, got 2,012 votes. Jatiyo Party party nominated candidate Habibur Rahman got 1,678 votes as the main opponent since the BNP nominated candidate stayed away of the election before voting day.

The constituency of Bogura-1 became vacant following the death of ruling party lawmaker Abdul Manan on Jan 18 while the Jashore-6 constituency has been vacant following the death of former State Minister for Public Administration Ismat Ara Sadeque in Jan 21.