loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • India stun Australia in T20 World Cup opener

  • Amar Ekushey observed with due respect

  • Don’t neglect mother tongue while learning other languages, says PM

  • GP "will deposit Tk1,000 cr to BTRC"

  • President, PM pay homage to Language Heroes

Ibrahimovic, Messi nominated for Puskas award

Ibrahimovic, Messi nominated for Puskas award

LA Galaxy forward Zlatan Ibrahimovic and F. C. Barcelona's Lionel Messi are among the 10 nominees for the 2018-19 Puskas award, the honour for the season's best goal.

FIFA has released the 10-player shortlist of nominees for the 2019 Puskas Award, the annual prize handed each year to individual who scores the 'most beautiful' goal of the year.

All goals under consideration were scored between 16 July 2018 and 18 July 2019 inclusive, with seven men and three women on the shortlist, the highest number of female nominees in a single year to date. As yet, no woman has ever won the Puskas Award.

Crystal Palace's Andros Townsend makes the list for his thunderbolt effort against Manchester City last season, as does Zlatan Ibrahimovic for his wonderfully improvised finish for LA Galaxy against Toronto FC back in September.

Amy Rodriguez's stunning solo effort for Utah Royals also makes the list, as does Cliftonville Ladies' Billie Simpson's strike against Sion Swift Ladies - an incredible volley from the halfway line.

The full list of 2019 Puskas Award nominees are as follows:

Player                                        Team

Matheus Cunha                       RB Leipzig
Juan Fernando Quintero     River Plate
Zlatan Ibrahimovic                 LA Galaxy
Lionel Messi                               F. C. Barcelona
Ajara Nchout                             Cameroon
Fabio Quaqliarella                  Sampdoria|
Amy Rodriguez                         Utah Royals
Billie Simpson                           Cliftonville Ladies
Andros Townsend                   Crystal Palace
Daniel Zsori                                Debrecen

Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah won last year’s Puskas Award, while other past winners since its creation in 2009 have included Cristiano Ronaldo, Neymar, James Rodriguez, Olivier Giroud as well as 2019 nominee Ibrahimovic.

Fans will have until midnight on Sep 1 to cast their vote. The public vote will then close and the overall winner will be chosen from the top three by a panel of FIFA Legends.

The winner will be announced at the Best FIFA Football Awards gala in Milan on Sep 23.