loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Earthquake jolts capital, other parts of country

  • President urges affluent to stand by poor in crisis

  • Holy Eid-ul-Fitr celebrated in somber mood

  • Kazi Nazrul’s 121st birth anniversary celebrated

  • President offers Eid prayers at Bangabhaban

Sheikh Hasina’s release day from prison observed

Sheikh Hasina’s release day from prison observed

The 11th anniversary of Bangladesh Awami League President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina’s release from prison was observed on Tuesday (Jun 11). On this day in 2008, Sheikh Hasina was released from the special sub-jail set up on the premises of the Jatiyo Sangsad (Parliament) Building after remaining captive there for nearly 11 months.

The Awami League president was arrested from her Sudha Sadan residence at Dhanmondi on Jul 16, 2007 during the military-backed caretaker government, which assumed power in the political changeover of 1/11 in 2007.

As Sheikh Hasina fell sick during her captivity, demands were raised then from different quarters including the Awami League and its associate bodies to send her abroad for better medical treatment after releasing her from jail.

Conceding to the people’s spontaneous and repeated demands and pressure from different quarters, the caretaker government was compelled to release Sheikh Hasina from jail.

In the national election of Dec 29 in 2008, the Awami League-led grand alliance registered a landslide victory with a two-thirds majority in the Jatiyo Sangsad and Awami League President Sheikh Hasina became the Prime Minister for the second term.

Marking the day, the leaders of Awami League and its associate bodies greeted Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina by presenting her with bouquets at her official Ganabhaban residence in Dhaka in the afternoon.

Senior Awami League leaders first greeted Sheikh Hasina by handing over a bouquet to her followed by the leaders of associate organisations of the party.

The senior Awami League leaders included Amir Hossain Amu, Tofail Ahmed, Engineer Mosharraf Hossain, Begum Matia Chowdhury, Obaidul Quader, Advocate Sahara Khatun and Abdul Matin Khashru.

Besides, Dr Dipu Moni, Jahangir Kabir Nanak, Dr Hasan Mahmud, BM Mozammel Haque, AFM Bahauddin Nasim, AKM Enamul Haque Shamim, Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury, Barrister Mohibul Hasan Chowdhury Nowfel, SM Rezaul Karim, Dr Abdus Sobhan Golap, Habibur Rahman Siraj, Mirza Azam, Advocate Quamrul Islam, Barrister Biplab Barua and Dhaka South City Corporation Mayor Sayeed Khokan were present.

Later, leaders of Dhaka North City Awami League, Dhaka South City Awami League, Awami Jubo League, Chhatra League, Sechchasebak League, Jatiyo Sramik League, Krishak League, Mohila Awami League, Jubo Mohila League and Bangabandhu Awami Ainjibi Parishad greeted the prime minister by presenting her with bouquets separately.

Senior officials of the Prime Minister’s Office led by Principal Secretary Md Nojibur Rahman and PMO Secretary Sajjadul Hassan also greeted the premier by handing over a bouquet.

Awami Swechchhasebak League arranged a discussion at Institution of Engineers, Bangladesh (IEB) auditorium in Dhaka marking the day.

Awami League Presidium Member and central 14-party spokesman Mohammed Nasim addressed the function as the chief guest, local media reported.