loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Bayern completes loan signing of Coutinho from Barca

  • ACC arrests another owner of FR Tower

  • PSG loses 2-1 at Rennes in League 1

  • Bale is going to stay at Madrid, says Zidane

  • Australia survive fright to draw Test

Mumbai beat Chennai in IPL final

Mumbai beat Chennai in IPL final

Indian Premier League final, Hyderabad:

Mumbai Indians 149-8 (20 overs): Pollard 41, De Kock 29
Chennai Super Kings 148-6 (20 overs): Watson 80
Mumbai win by one run

Lasith Malinga produced an incredible last over to defend nine runs as Mumbai Indians claimed undisputed supremacy in the IPL by securing their fourth title with a narrow one-run win over Chennai Super Kings in a pulsating final on Sunday (May 12). 

Mumbai Indians won a record fourth Indian Premier League title after they beat Chennai Super Kings by a single run in a dramatic finish.

Mumbai set Chennai a target of 150 after hitting 149-8 from 20 overs with Kieron Pollard top scoring with 41.

Shane Watson's 80 took Chennai to the verge of victory, but needing nine to win off the last over, he was run out.

That left Shardul Thakur needing two runs off the final ball but he was trapped lbw by Lasith Malinga.

Mumbai's victory also denied Chennai a fourth title and the chance of retaining the Indian Premier League after winning the 2018 edition, their first since a two-year ban for their part in a corruption scandal.

Malinga struggled earlier on by giving away 49 runs in his four overs but the last two overs by the Sri Lankan and fellow pace bowler Jasprit Bumrah, who took 2-14, were decisive.

West Indies batsman Pollard's unbeaten 41 off 25 balls, alongside Quinton de Kock's 29 helped set up the Mumbai total.

"The team that panics less does better. It was a team performance," said Pollard.