loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • FIFA to continue support for promotion of BD’s football, Infantino tells PM

  • Bus crash near Saudi's Medina kills 35: state media

  • Pogba out of Man Utd’s clash with Liverpool

  • Oikyafront’s 'public rally' at Suhrawardy Udyan Oct 22

  • Messi wins European Golden Shoe 2019

By-election to Bogra-6 on Jun 24

By-election to Bogra-6 on Jun 24

Bangladesh Election Commission has announced that fresh polls will be held at Bogra 6 constituency on June 24, as the seat’s elected representative BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir did not take oath as the MP. The commission’s Secretary Helal Uddin Ahmed announced the schedule on Wednesday (May 8) at the commission office in Dhaka’s Agargaon.

By-election to Bogura-6 parliamentary constituency, which was declared vacant as Mirza Fakhrul refuses to take oath, will be held on Jun 24. The balloting will begin at 9:00 a.m. and end at 5 p.m. on the day.

Bangladesh Election Commission Secretary Helaluddin Ahmed told the reporters at Nirbachon Bhaban on Wednesday (May 8), local media reported.

According to poll schedule, voting to Bogura-6 constituency will be held on Jun 24, May 23 will be last date for submission of nomination. Nomination papers scrutiny on May 27, the withdrawal of candidacy on Jun 3 and symbols allocation on Jun 4.

Earlier on Apr 30, Jatiyo Sangsad declared Bogura-6 constituency vacant as Bangladesh Nationalist Party - BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir failed to take his oath within the stipulated time.

According to the constitution, the by-election has to be held within 90 days after a seat fell vacant.

Five other BNP lawmakers, however, were sworn in to the 11th parliament. While four of them took oath on Apr 29, another lawmaker was sworn in on Apr 25. 

BNP had rejected the Dec 30 general election results claiming that the polls had been rigged by the ruling party.