loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Bangladesh clinch UEFA Assist Under-16 title

  • PM calls for boosting trade, commerce with Vietnam

  • National cricketers call strike: reports

  • Nine new additional judges sworn in

  • PM urges countrymen to show patience over Bhola incident

Four BNP MPs-elect take oath

Four BNP MPs-elect take oath

Four lawmakers-elect from Bangladesh Nationalist Party - BNP took oath on Monday (Apr 29) as Member of Parliament (MP) of the 11th Jatiyo Sangsad.

The four MPs are – Md Mosharraf Hossain from Bogura-4, Md Aminul Islam from Chapainwabganj-2, Harun-ur-Rashid from Chapainwabganj-3 and Abdus Sattar Bhuiyan from Brahmanbaria-2 parliamentary constituencies. Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the swearing-in at the Jatiyo Sangsad Bhaban, local media reported.

“We have taken oath at the directives of the party’s acting Chairman Tarique Rahman,” Harun-ur-Rashid from Chapainwabganj-3 told journalists after taking oath.

When asked about their party’s position, he said, “Our party has also given us decision to take oath”.

A total of six candidates from BNP were elected members of the parliament in the 11th Jatiyo Sangsad election held on Dec 30, 2018.

With these four MPs, five lawmakers of BNP took oath. On Apr 25, another MP-elect from BNP, Zahidur Rahman, took oath.

BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir has not taken oath yet.