loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • PM opens Biman’s third Dreamliner Gaangchil

  • Qantas to run test flights on world's longest route

  • GP appoints Jens Becker as new CFO

  • Franck Ribery joins Fiorentina on free transfer

  • AFC Cup: Abahani take first-leg lead against April 25

DPL: Soumya propels Abahani to title

DPL: Soumya propels Abahani to title

Brief Scores

Sheikh Jamal DC 317-9 in 50 overs (Tanbir 132 not out; Mashrafee 4-56)
Abahani Ltd 319-1 in 47.1 overs (Soumya 208 not out, Jahurul 100; Imtiaz 1-10)
Result: Abahani Ltd won by 9 wickets
Player of The Match: Soumya Sarkar (Abahani Limited)

Soumya Sarkar became the first Bangladeshi player to hit a double hundred in List-A cricket and help Abahani Limited earn their 20th Dhaka Premier League title by beating Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club by nine wickets at BKSP on Tuesday (Apr 23).

Abahani Limited lifted the Dhaka Premier League title for a record 20th time. The side boosted with national cricketers registered a nine-wicket victory against Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club on Tuesday and finished as the champions of the premier 50-over tournament of the country, for the second consecutive year.

Abahani were in a must-win situation in the last round game of the 2019 season, and they did it in style with Soumya Sarkar leading the way at BKSP ground.

Both Abahani and Legends of Rupganj had finished the season with 26 points each and were equal as per head-to-head record. Abahani however took the leap to the title thanks to their superior net run rate.

Rupganj also won their respective last game of the season, defeating Prime Bank Cricket Club by 88 runs and finished as runners-up in the tournament for the second consecutive time.

At BKSP, Sheikh Jamal were in trouble after winning the toss as they lost half of their side for just 85 runs. But Tanbir Hayder and Elias Sunny added 91 runs in the sixth wicket before the latter fell for 45 while trying to resurrect the innings.

Tanbir, who is known as a leg-spinner, continued the repair and received good help from Mehrab Hossain (45 off 46) to form a 98-run stand off 85 balls to take the score to 278.

Even after the fall of Mehrab, the 27-year old continued the onslaught and remained not out on 132 off 115 balls to help his side reach a total of 317-9. The first ever List A century of Tanbir consisted of 10 fours and six sixes, and it seemed that his brilliant ton would put Abahani’s title chase in jeopardy.

However, his innings was completely overshadowed by one of the finest innings in Bangladesh's domestic history. Soumya’s majestic 208 not out and a 128-ball century from Jahurul Islam made the chase seem like a cakewalk.

Jahurul was dismissed when the score was 312 and Abahani were just six short with more than four overs to go. Soumya finished the match in style putting a Taijul Islam delivery beyond the boundary.

On the run feast day, Abahani pacer Mashrafe Bin Mortaza was the only bowler with a substantial figure as the grabbed 4/56 bowling ten overs.

The experience of Mash and exuberance of Soumya once again made Abahani the indomitable force it is, in the domestic circuit.