loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Australia beat Pakistan in first ODI

  • Euro qualifying: Spain, Italy start with wins

  • Serena withdraws, Osaka out, Kvitova wins

  • Obaidul Quader talks to physician

  • New DUCSU leaders take charge

Banks in polls areas to remain closed Thursday

Banks in polls areas to remain closed Thursday

All branches of scheduled banks will remain closed on Thursday (Feb 28) in the election areas across the country, according to a circular of Bangladesh Bank issued on Tuesday (Feb 26).

The branches of the commercial banks at Dhaka North City Corporation (DNCC) and expanded part of the Dhaka South City Corporation (DSCC) areas will remain closed to enable bank officials and employees to cast their votes, local media reported.

The other areas where banks will remain closed are Amtali municipality area of Barguna district, Kaliganj municipality area of Jhenaidah district, Azimpur, Farrukhabad and Biral unions of the Biral Upazila under Dinajpur district, Bhir Betagoir and Char Betagoir unions under Nandil upazila in Mymensingh district, Kachikata union under Badarganj Upazila in Shariatpur District, Galimpur union under Barura upazila in Cumilla district, Nanupur and Khiram unions under Fatikchhari upazila in Chattogram district and Patuakhali municipality.