loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Chandrayaan-2 begins orbiting Moon

  • Barca forward Dembele out 5 weeks with injury

  • Ibrahimovic, Messi nominated for Puskas award

  • Midday meal in all govt primary schools by 2023

  • DNCC launch ‘combing operation’ to eliminate dengue

AL picks candidates for upazila polls in 122 UZs

AL picks candidates for upazila polls in 122 UZs

Bangladesh Awami League on Saturday (Feb 23) finalised its candidates for the chairmen posts in the third phase of upazila parishad polls in 122 upazilas. The nominations were finalised at a meeting of the AL Local Government Nomination Board held at Ganabhaban in the afternoon. Awami League Local Government Election Nomination Board Chairperson and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina presided over the meeting.

Members of the board including Amir Hossain Amu, Tofail Ahmed, Obaidul Quader, Dr Abdur Razzak, Muhammad Faruk Khan, Dr Dipu Moni and Abul Hasnat Abdullah attended the meeting, local media reports said.

The third phase elections to 127 upazila parishads under 17 districts in five divisions will be held on Mar 24.

Bangladesh Election Commission Joint Secretary SM Asaduzzaman announced the detailed schedule of the third phase UZ polls at a press conference at Agargaon Nirbachan Bhaban on Feb 14.

According to the schedule, the deadline for nomination paper submission for the third phase polls has been set on Feb 26. The scrutiny will be held on Feb 28 while the last date for candidature withdrawal is on Mar 7.