loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Boris Johnson is UK's next Prime Minister

  • Advance train ticket sale for from Jul 29

  • India successfully launches moon mission

  • Ireland set for landmark Test against England

  • Govt. warns of stern action against lynching spreading rumours

21 personalities named for Ekushey Padak

21 personalities named for Ekushey Padak

Twenty-one eminent personalities will get the country's second-highest civilian award, Ekushey Padak, this year in recognition of their contributions to various fields. The cultural affairs ministry announced the names of the recipients on Wednesday (Feb 6), local media reports said.

Prof Halima Khatun (posthumous), advocate Golam Arif Tipu, and Prof Monowara Islam have been selected for the award for their role in the Language Movement.

Sayeda Khanam and Jamal Uddin Ahmed have been chosen for their contributions to photography and fine arts respectively while Khitindra Chandra Baishya is getting the Ekushey Padak for his role in the Liberation War.

Subir Nandi, Azam Khan (posthumous), and Khairul Anam Shakil are being recognised for their contributions to music while Lucky Enam, Suborna Mustafa and Liaquat Ali Lucky for performing arts.

Dr Biswajit Ghosh and Dr Mahbubul Haque have been picked for the award for their research while Dr Pranab Kumar Barua is being awarded for his contribution to education.

Rizia Rahman, Imdadul Haq Milon, Ashim Saha, Anwara Syed Haq, Mainul Ahsan Saber and Harishankar Jaladas are getting the award for contributing to language and literature.

Each awardee will get a gold medal, a certificate and a cheque for Tk 2 lakh.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will hand over the Ekushey Padak to the winners and their representatives at a ceremony at Bangabandhu International Conference Centre on Feb 20.