loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Chandrayaan-2 begins orbiting Moon

  • Barca forward Dembele out 5 weeks with injury

  • Ibrahimovic, Messi nominated for Puskas award

  • Midday meal in all govt primary schools by 2023

  • DNCC launch ‘combing operation’ to eliminate dengue

PM opens six power plants, nine grid stations

PM opens six power plants, nine grid stations

As much as 1062 megawatts (MWs) of electricity have been added to the country’s national grid as Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Wednesday (Feb 6) inaugurated six power plants and nine grid substations. The premier opened these power plants and grid substations through a videoconferencing from her official Ganabhaban residence in Dhaka in the morning.

Through the same function, Hasina also launched the power supply to Sandwip upazila in Chattogram through submarine cable, the first of its kind in the country, and cent percent electrification in 12 upazilas, local media reports said.

The six power plants inaugurated by the PM are: Sirajganj 282MW Simple Cycle Power Plant, Bhola 225MW Combined Cycle Power Plant, Chandpur 200MW Power Plant, Ashuganj 150MW Power Plant, Rupsha in Khulna 105MW Power Plant, Julda in Chattogram 100MW Power Plant (3rd unit).

The nine grid substations are Ramganj, Barishal (North), Baroiyerhat, Shikalbaha, Jaldhaka, Sunamganj, Bianibazar, Rangamati and Matarbari.

The 12 upazilas which came under cent percent power coverage are: Harinakundu, Thakurgaon Sadar, Baliadangi, Goalanda, Kalukhali, Bamna, Lakhai, Shaistaganj, Ajmiriganj, Bahubal, Melandah and Islampur.

According to officials of the power ministry, a total of 306 upazilas have so far been brought under cent percent electricity coverage. Of them, cent percent electrification was inaugurated in 263 upazilas, while it will be launched in the rest of 43 upazilas by June this year, the officials said.

PM’s Energy Adviser Dr Towfik-e-Elahi Chowdhury, State Minister for Power, Energy and Mineral Resources Nasrul Hamid Bipu spoke at the function. Power Division Secretary Dr Ahmad Kaikaus gave an overview on the overall development in the power sector, while PM’s Principal Secretary Dr Nojibur Rahman moderated the function.

Former ministers and Bangladesh Awami League senior leaders Tofail Ahmed and Engineer Mosharraf Hossain, former state minister Mirza Azam, ex-deputy minister Abdullah Islam Al Jakob and parliament members of the concerned areas were present at Ganabhaban.