loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Chandrayaan-2 begins orbiting Moon

  • Barca forward Dembele out 5 weeks with injury

  • Ibrahimovic, Messi nominated for Puskas award

  • Midday meal in all govt primary schools by 2023

  • DNCC launch ‘combing operation’ to eliminate dengue

PM hosts tea party for political leaders

PM hosts tea party for political leaders

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Saturday (Feb 2) hosted a tea party for the leaders of political alliances and organisations who joined the PM’s dialogue before the 11th parliamentary elections. Sheikh Hasina, also Bangladesh Awami League president, hosted the tea party for them at the South Lawn of Ganabhaban, the official residence of the PM in the afternoon, local media reports said.

Front ranking leaders of different political parties including Bangladesh Awami League, Jatiyo Party, Workers Party, Jatiyo Samajtantrik Dal (JASOD-Inu), JAPA (Monju), JASOD (Ambia), Bangladesher Samajtantrik Dal (BSD), Ganotantri Party, Samyobadi Dal, Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh, Islami Oikyo Jote, Tariqat Federation, Bangladesh Nationalist Front attended the tea party.

The PM exchanged pleasantries with the leaders. She went round different tables set for the guests, talked to them and enquired about their well-being.

Jatiyo Sangsad Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury, senior Awami League leaders Amir Hossain Amu, Begum Matia Chowdhury, Engineer Mosharraf Hossain, Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim, Nurul Islam Nahid, Obaidul Quader, Faruk Khan, Abdul Matin Khashru, Dr Abdur Razzak, Dr Hasan Mahmud, Industries Minister Nurul Majid Mahmud Humayun, Housing and Public Works Minister SM Rezaul Karim, Education Minister Dr Dipu Moni, Jatiyo Party senior leader and former opposition leader Begum Raushan Ershad, Jatiyo Party Co-Chairman GM Quader, Secretary General Moshiur Rahman Ranga, Ruhul Amin Hawlader, Ziauddin Ahmed Bablu, Anisul Islam Mahmud, Mujibul Haque Chunnu, Sunil Shubho Roy, JAPA (Manju) President Anwar Hossain Manju, JASOD President Hasanul Haque Inu and General Secretary Shirin Akhtar, JASOD (Ambia) leaders Moinuddin Khan Badal and Nazmul Haque Prodhan, Workers Party President Rashed Khan Menon and General Secretary Fazle Hossain Badsha joined the tea party.

Besides, Bikalpa Dhara President Dr Badruddoza Chowdhury, General Secretary Major (retd) MA Mannan, Mahi B Chowdhury, Shamsher Mobin Chowdhury, Islami Oikyo Jote President Alhaz Misbahur Rahman Chowdhury, Tariqat Federation President Alhaj Nojibul Bashar Maizbhandari, Samyabadi Dal President Dilip Barua, BNF President Barrister Nazmul Huda, and other leaders of Awami League, 14-party combine, PM’s advisers and secretaries concerned to the Prime Minister were present on the occasion.

The lush green south lawn of Ganabhaban was tastefully decorated with kureghar, mat, mora and earthen pots, while patriotic songs were played on the occasion. The guests were entertained with traditional foods and cakes of Bangladesh including chatpati, fuchka, muri, chanachur, and bhapa, chitai, patisapta and puli pitha, zilapi, kebab, nan ruti.

Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader, on behalf of the PM, later thanked the leaders of the political alliances and organisations who joined the premier’s tea party.

According to a source at the Prime Minister’s Office, the premier invited leaders of 54 political parties to her tea party. The leaders of all political parties except BNP-led Jatiyo Oikyofront attended the tea party, the source added.

The PM held dialogues with the political parties at her official Ganabhaban residence from Nov 1-7 ahead of the general election held on Dec 30.