loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Chandrayaan-2 begins orbiting Moon

  • Barca forward Dembele out 5 weeks with injury

  • Ibrahimovic, Messi nominated for Puskas award

  • Midday meal in all govt primary schools by 2023

  • DNCC launch ‘combing operation’ to eliminate dengue

Shirin Sharmin re-elected speaker for third time

Shirin Sharmin re-elected speaker for third time

Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury has been elected the Speaker of the 11th national parliament for the third consecutive term. She was elected at the beginning of the first day of session on Wednesday (Jan 30), local media reports said.

For the first time in history, parliament on Wednesday elected Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury the Speaker for the third consecutive term. The attending MPs of the newly-formed 11th Jatiyo Sangsad unanimously elected Dr Chaudhury, the lone candidate, by voice vote as Deputy Speaker Fazle Rabbi Miah, who was presiding the session, placed it for endorsement.

The MPs, including Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, shouted ‘yes’ in favour of the proposal made by Bangladesh Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader and seconded by Chief Whip Noor-E-Alam Chowdhury.

Presided over by Fazle Rabbi Miah, the assembly starts the Speaker election on the first day of the opening session of the 11th parliament formed through the Dec 30 general election.

The maiden session of the new parliament began at 3 p.m. with Deputy Speaker Fazle Rabbi Miah in the chair as the outgoing Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury was the Speaker candidate.

The 10th national parliament deputy speaker conducted the parliament while President Md. Abdul Hamid administered the oath taking of Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury.