loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Djokovic to face Nadal in Italian final

  • Bangabandhu Satellite’s commercial operation begins today

  • Bayern clinch seventh successive Bundesliga title

  • Netherlands wins Eurovision Song Contest

  • Manchester City win FA Cup to seal treble

BNP win in B’baria-2 elections

BNP win in B’baria-2 elections

BNP leader Abdus Sattar Bhuiyan, the Jatiyo Oikya Front candidate for the Brahmanbaria-2, has won the parliamentary constituency after re-voting in three centres.

Bangladesh Nationalist Party - BNP nominated candidate Abdus Sattar Bhuiyan secured win in parliamentary elections for Brahmanbaria-2 constituency. He bagged 83,997 votes in the voting at 132 polling centers to beat his nearest rival independent candidate Moinuddin who received 75,419 votes with ‘banana stick’ symbol, reports said.

With ‘Sheaf of Paddy’ electoral symbol, Abdus Sattar Bhuiyan will represent the constituency for fifth time.

The general election was held in 299 out of 300 constituencies on Dec 30. Voting in three polling centers were suspended in the national elections over reports of violence and closure.

As of now, Jatiyo Oikyofront’s total achievement in the 11th national elections now reaches to 8 out of 299 constituencies.

Bangladesh Awami League has already formed government for the third consecutive term after winning the elections by a landslide.

Jatiyo Oikyofront has rejected the results. It has announced "programmes" demanding "fresh" elections.