loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • England beat Pakistan, win series 4-0

  • BPL: Basundhara Kings further on top spot

  • Actress Maya Ghosh passes away

  • Messi scores twice but Barca held

  • Govt. redistributes ministers’ responsibilities in three ministries

New cabinet sworn in

New cabinet sworn in

The new ministers, state ministers and deputy ministers have been sworn-in to the cabinet as the first step towards formation of Sheikh Hasina’s third consecutive government. President Md. Abdul Hamid administered the oath to the batch of new ministers – comprising mostly of new faces – at the Darbar Hall of Bangabhaban this afternoon, local media reports said.

Sheikh Hasina swore in for the fourth time as Prime Minister of Bangladesh government for the fourth time; the third in a row since the government of 2009.

Cabinet Secretary M Shafiul Alam moderated the ceremony. The functionalities began from 3:30 p.m. with recitation from the Holy Quran.

The names of the cabinet members have already been publicised. In total, there are 47 ministers, state ministers and deputies – almost all of who are new faces.

This new cabinet will not see most of its previous members including some heavyweight ones and those from alliance members of the ruling coalition. For the first time in 22 years, the new council of ministers will be a single-party one. Among the 47 members in the new council of ministers, 27 are first timers.

Besides, four of them -- Abdur Razzaque, Dipu Moni, Hasan Mahmud and Begum Monnuzan Sufian -- were members of the Hasina-led cabinet in 2009-2014.

PM’s portfolios

According to the list of the cabinet members, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will keep the portfolios for Cabinet Division, Ministry of Public Administration, Ministry of Defence, Armed Forces Division, Ministry of Power, Energy and Mineral Resources and Ministry of Women and Children Affairs.

24 new ministers

The 24 ministers are AKM Mozammel Huq (Liberation War Affairs), Obaidul Quader (Road Transport and Bridges), Md Abdur Razzaque (Agriculture), Asaduzzaman Khan (Home Affair),Mohammad Hasan Mahmud (Information), Anisul Huq (Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs), AHM Mustafa Kamal (Finance), Md Tajul Islam (Local Government, Rural Development and Cooperatives), Dr Dipu Moni (Education), AK Abdul Momen (Foreign Affairs), MA Mannan (Planning), Nurul Majid Mahmud Humayun (Industries), Golam Dastagir Gazi (Textiles and Jute), Zahid Maleque (Health and Family Welfare), Sadhan Chandra Majumder (Food), Tipu Munshi (Commerce), Nuruzzaman Ahmed (Social Welfare), SM Rezaul Karim (Housing and Public Works), Md Shahab Uddin (Environment, Forest and Climate Change), BirBahadur Ushwe Sing (Chattogram Hill Tracts Affairs), Saifuzzaman Chowdhury (Land), MdNurul Islam Sujan (Railways), Yeafesh Osman (Science and Technology-Technocrat) and Mustafa Jabbar (Posts, Telecommunications and Information Technology-Technocrat).

19 new state ministers

The 19 state ministers are Kamal Ahmed Majumder (Education), Imran Ahmad (Expatriates’ Welfare and Overseas Employment), Md Zahid Ahsan Russel (Youth and Sports), Nasrul Hamid (Power, Energy and Mineral Resources), Md Ashraf Ali Khan Kashru (Fisheries and Livestock), Begum Monnuzan Sufian (Labour and Employment), Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury (Shipping), Md Zakir Hossain (Primary and Mass Education), Md Shahriar Alam (Foreign Affairs), Zunaid Ahmed Palak (Information and Communication Technology Division), Farhad Hossain (Public Administration), Shawpan Bhattacharjee (LGRD and Cooperatives), Jahid Faruk (Water Resources), Md Murad Hasan (Health and Family Welfare), Sharif Ahmed (Social Welfare), KM Khalid (Cultural Affairs), Md Enamur Rahaman (Disaster Management and Relief), Md Mahbub Ali (Civil Aviation and Tourism) and Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah (Religious Affairs-Technocrat).

3 new deputy ministers

The three deputy ministers are Begum Habibun Nahar (Environment, Forest and Climate Change), AKM Enamul Haque Shamim (Water Resources) and Mohibul Hasan Chowdhury (Education).