loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Serena withdraws, Osaka out, Kvitova wins

  • Obaidul Quader talks to physician

  • New DUCSU leaders take charge

  • 3rd phase polls in 117 upazilas Sunday

  • Shahnaz Rahmatullah passes away

PM, other Awami League MPs pay tributes to Bangabandhu

PM, other Awami League MPs pay tributes to Bangabandhu

Prime Minister and Bangladesh Awami League President Sheikh Hasina along with the newly-elected parliament members of her party on Friday (Jan 4) paid rich tributes to the Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman. The PM and other Awami League MPs paid homage to Bangabandhu by placing wreaths at his portrait in front of Bangabandhu Memorial Museum at Dhanmondi in the morning, a day after they took oath as the lawmakers, local media reports said.

Sheikh Hasina first laid a wreath at Bangabandhu’s portrait alone as the premier. After placing the wreath, she stood in solemn silence for some time as a mark of profound respect to the memory of Bangabandhu, the architect of the country’s independence. Flanked by the Awami League lawmakers, Sheikh Hasina placed another wreath at Bangabandhu’s portrait as the party chief.

Awami League Advisory Council Members Amir Hossain Amu, Tofail Ahmed and Dr Mohiuddin Khan Alamgir, Presidium Members Engineer Mosharraf Hossain, Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim, Begum Matia Chowdhury, Colonel (retd) Faruk Khan, Nurul Islam Nahid, Abdul Matin Khashru, Dr Abdur Razzak and Ramesh Chandra Sen, Deputy Speaker Fazle Rabbi Mian, Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader, Shipping Minister Shajahan Khan, Home Minister Asaduzzaman Khan Kamal, Civil Aviation and Tourism Minister AKM Shahjahan Kamal, Cultural Affairs Minister Asaduzzaman Noor, Chief Whip ASM Feroz, AL Joint Secretary Mahbub-ul Alam Hanif and other AL MPs were present on the occasion.

The newly-elected lawmakers of Awami League and other parties except Jatiyo Oikyofront were sworn in at a function at Jatiyo Sangsad on Thursday, three days after the AL-led Grand Alliance’s absolute victory in the Dec 30 national elections. Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury administered the oath to the MPs including Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina at the Oath Room of Sangsad Bhaban.

The ruling Awami League swept the Dec 30 elections by a landslide victory as it bagged 259 seats in parliament. On Tuesday, Bangladesh Election Commission published the results of the 11th Jatiya Sangsad and issued gazette notification containing the names and addresses of candidates of 298 constituencies.

According to the results, HM Ershad-led Jatiyo Party secured 20 seats while Bangladesh Nationalist Party - BNP got just five seats.

Workers Party bagged three seats while Jatiyo Samajtantrik Dal two seats, Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh two seats and Tariqat Federation one seat.

Gonoforum bagged two seats while Manju-led Jatiyo Party (JP) one seat and independent candidates got three seats.