loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Australia beat Pakistan in first ODI

  • Euro qualifying: Spain, Italy start with wins

  • Serena withdraws, Osaka out, Kvitova wins

  • Obaidul Quader talks to physician

  • New DUCSU leaders take charge

Newly-elected MPs sworn in

Newly-elected MPs sworn in

Newly-elected members of parliament (MPs) were sworn in on Thursday (Jan 3) morning. Outgoing Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury first took oath herself as an MP and then administered the oath to other Bangladesh Awami League MPs at the Oath Room of the Jatiyo Sangsad Bhaban. Later, she administered the oath to other MPs of Jatiyo Party (Ershad), Workers Party, Jatiyo Samajtantrik Dal, Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh, Tariqat Federation, Jatiyo Party (Manju) and independent, local media reports said.

Senior Secretary of Parliament Secretariat Dr Zafar Ahmed Khan conducted the oath-taking ceremony that began at 11 a.m.

The other elected MPs will take oath later, though it is still not clear whether the five elected MPs of Bangladesh Nationalist party - BNP and two of Ganoforum will take oath or not.

Five BNP MPs-elect are Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir (Bagura-6), Mosharraf Hossain (Bogura-4) Jahidur Rahman (Thakurgaon-3), Aminul Islam (Chanpainawabganj-2), Harunur Rashid (Chanpainawabganj-3) while two Gonoforum MPs-elect are Sultan Mohammad Mansur (Moulvibazar-2) and Mokbbir Khan (Sylhet-2).

Traditionally, the oath-taking ceremony of lawmakers takes place within three days of the publication of the gazette.