loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Sri Lanka govt vows to overhaul state security

  • Eriksen goal gives Spurs vital win

  • Barca on the brink of another La Liga title

  • DPL: Soumya propels Abahani to title

  • Women’s U-19: Mongolia make flying start

'Talks yield no solution'

'Talks yield no solution'

The second round of dialogue with Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina yielded "no solution", according to Jatiyo Oikyafront leaders. The leaders came up with the comment while addressing journalists after the second round of dialogue of the leaders of Jatiyo Oikyafront with 14-party alliance leaders, local media reports said.

During a press briefing after the dialogue Bangladesh Nationalist Party Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, however, said the government will be "responsible" if the dialogue become not fruitful.

He also said: “Our scheduled political programmes and movement will be staged if the election commission ignore our proposals and announce the polls schedule tomorrow.”

Jatiyo Oikyafront sat for the dialogue with 14-party alliance led by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Wednesday (Nov 7) morning in a bid to reach an understanding over the upcoming national election.

The meeting between Dr Kamal Hossain-led Jatiyo Oikyafront and the 14-party was held at the Prime Minister’s official residence Ganabhaban in the capital.

BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, its standing committee members Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain, Moudud Ahmed, JSD President ASM Abur Rob, Nagorik Oikya Convenver Mahmudur Rahman Manna, and Jatiyo Oikya Prokriya leader Sultan Mansur were among the Oikyafront delegation members.

In today’s talks, other 14-party team members are Bangladesh Awami League General Secretary and Road Transport Minister Obaidul Quader, Industries Minister Amir Hossain Amu, Commerce Minister Tofail Ahmed, Health Minister Mohammad Nasim, Social Welfare Minister Rashed Khan Menon, Information Minister Hasanul Haq Inu, Awami League Presidium Member Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim, Law Minister Anisul Huq, Awami League joint general secretary Dr Dipu Moni, and AL law affairs secretary SM Rezaul Karim.

A 23-member delegation of 14-party, led by Sheikh Hasina, sat in talks at Ganabhaban with Dr Kamal Hossain-led 21-member Jatiyo Oikyafront team on Nov 1.