loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Rashid Suhrawardy passes away in London

  • Bale scores 100th Real goal in derby win

  • DITF fetches BDT 200 crore export orders

  • AL finalizes nominations for women reserved seat polls

  • Injury bars Shakib from NZ tour

Imran Khan takes oath as Pakistan's 22nd PM

Imran Khan takes oath as Pakistan's 22nd PM

Cricketer-turned-politician and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan was sworn in as the 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan on Saturday (Aug 18) in presence of several leaders and cricketers. The oath-taking ceremony was administered by President Mamnoon Hussain at the President House in Islamabad.

Those in attendance include Imran Khan’s wife Bushra Bibi, former Indian cricketer Navjot Singh Sidhu, Wasim Akram, actor Javed Sheikh, Punjab governor designate Chaudhry Sarwar, Punjab Assembly speaker Pervez Elahi, Ramiz Raja, caretaker Prime Minister Nasir-ul-Mulk, PTI leaders, Army chief General Qamar Javed Bajwa, Chairman Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee Zubair Mahmood Hayat, and Chief of Air Staff Marshal Mujahid Anwar Khan.

The election in the 15th National Assembly was held on Jul 25 and results were declared the next day in which Imran’s PTI emerged as the largest party securing 116 seats. Opposition parties Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N) and Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) won 64 and 43 seats respectively.

However, Imran did not have the majority to form the government as a total of 172 votes were needed for that in the 342-member lower house of Parliament.

On Friday, of the total National Assembly members, 176 voted in favour of Imran, while his opponent, Shahbaz received 96 votes. Hence, making the way clear for the PTI chief to become the new PM.

- Source: News websites