loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Sri Lanka faces scrutiny over bomb warnings

  • Atalanta into C' League contention with win at Napoli

  • Nadal to face Mayer in Barcelona Open

  • Chelsea move up to fourth after Burnley draw

  • Bangamata U-19 Football: BD kick off with a win

BD women thrash UAE by seven wickets

BD women thrash UAE by seven wickets

Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier 2018

Brief scorecard:
UAE: 39 for all in 16. 2 overseas, Oza ,18, Fahima Khatun 4-0-8-4, Nahida 2/2 and Rumana 4/2
Bangladesh: 40 for 2 in 6.4 overs, Nigar 21 n.o, Sanjida 15, Nisha 1/7 and Srinivasan 1/12

Bangladesh women cricketers continued their good work as they qualified for the final round of Women’s World T20 by being Group A champions, thrashing the United Arab Emirates by eight wickets in Women T20 qualifying tie held on Tuesday (Jul 10) at Uttrecht in Holland.

Bangladesh won the toss and invited their rivals UAE to bat first. Against some very tight and discipline bowling, UAE batters hardly could settle down as they were bundled for a paltry 39 runs all out in 16.2 overs.

In reply, the Tigresses raced to 40 for two wickets in 6.5 overs. Er Oza with 18 runs was only UAE batter to reach double figure mark.

Fahima Khatun with 4 wickets for 8 runs was the wrecker-in-chief for Bangladesh. Rumana Ahmed with 2 wickets for 4 and Nahida Akter with 2 for 2 runs were the other successful bowlers for Bangladesh.

In reply, Bangladesh literally strolled to their target without much sweat as they cruised to 40 for 2 in only 6.5 overs.

Ayasha Rahman with 2 was the first Bangladesh batter to be out. Sanjida Islam with 15 off 9 balls was next batter to be out. Fargana Hoque top scored with unbeaten 21 off 22 balls with three boundaries while Rumana Ahmed was batting on 0 when Tigresses reach their winning target.

Fargana Hoque was adjudged as player of the match.

Earlier in their group match, Bangladesh thrashed Papua New Guinea by eight wickets in their first match of this meet and dumped Netherlands by seven wickets.

In the World T20 Qualifier meet, Bangladesh was placed in Pool A alongside Papua New Guinea, Netherlands and United Arab Emirates. The top two teams from the eight-nation qualifiers event will join Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and hosts West Indies in the tournament scheduled to be staged from Nov 9-25 in the Caribbean.

- Source: News agencies