loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • BASIS SoftExpo 2019 begins Tuesday

  • PM unveils cover of book ‘Bangla Bhashar Bangabandhu’

  • Nur demands DUCSU reelection

  • PSG beat Marseille 3-1 at Ligue 1

  • Election to 116 Upazila Parishads Monday

14-party begins campaign in GCC polls today

14-party begins campaign in GCC polls today

Bangladesh Awami League-led 14-party alliance will step up its election campaign today for mayoral candidate M Jahangir Alam in the Gazipur City Corporation (GCC) polls slated for Jun 26, local media reports said.

The 14-party leaders will start the polls campaign from Chandana High School of Gazipur intersection at about 11 a.m., said a source of the alliance.

The alliance leaders will drum up support for the AL mayoral candidate in the GCC polls highlighting the development activities of the government led by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, he said.

They will also urge the voters of to cast their votes in favour of election symbol “Boat” as part of resisting the anti-liberation evil forces.

Leaders of the 14-party combine including Jahangir Kabir Nanak and Osim Kumar Ukil of ruling Awami League, Dr Mohammad Shahidullah Sikdar of Ganatantrik Party, Dilip Barua of Samyabadi Dal, Sheikh Shahidul Islam of Jatiya Party (Manju), Shirin 

Akhter and Shawkat Raihan of Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD), Dr Wazed Ali Khan of Communist Kendra, Shafiqur Rahman of NAP, Ataullah Khan of Bangladesh Gano Azadi League, Quamrul Islam of Workers party and Syed Rejaul Haque of Bangladesh 

Tariqat Federation (BTF) will take part in the polls campaign.

Meanwhile, the city wore a festive look with posters, banners and festoons of different candidates.

The other mayoral candidates are Hasan Uddin Sarkar of BNP, Md Ruhul Amin of Communist Party of Bangladesh, Md Jalal Uddin of Bangladesh Islami Front, Fazlul Haque Minar of Islami Oikya Jote, Md Nasir Uddin of Islami Andolan Bangladesh and Farid Ahmed (independent).

Around 11 lakh voters are eligible to cast their votes to elect the mayor, 57 general ward councillors and 19 women councillors for the reserved seats.