loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • England beat Pakistan, win series 4-0

  • BPL: Basundhara Kings further on top spot

  • Actress Maya Ghosh passes away

  • Messi scores twice but Barca held

  • Govt. redistributes ministers’ responsibilities in three ministries

7 personalities named for Shilpakala Padak

7 personalities named for Shilpakala Padak

Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy on Sunday (May 27) announced the names of seven personalities for awarding the 'Shilpakala Padak 2017' in seven categories. Those to be given the award are: Mihir Paul in music, Mohammad Alauddin Mian in instrumental music, SM Mahsin in dramatics, Kangalini Sufia Begum in folk culture, Chandra Shekhor Dey in fine arts, Nasir Ali Mamun in photography, and Shormila Bandhopaddhya in dance.

Shilpakala Academy Director General Liakat Ali Lucky announced the names of the awardees at a press conference at the academy at Shegunbagicha in the city, local media reports said. Academy Secretary Jahangir Hossain Chowdhury also spoke in the press conference while Director Shahidul Islam was present.

Lucky said Md. President Abdul Hamid will formally hand over the award to the recipients at a function at 2 p.m. Monday.

Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy has been conferring the 'Shilpakala Padak' since 2013 under the initiative of Cultural Affairs Ministry.

A 16-member nomination committee, comprising the Shilpakala Academy director general, secretary, six directors, seven cultural personalities and one representative of the cultural affairs ministry, selects names for the award.

The award is conferred for outstanding contribution to 12 sectors -- music, instrumental music, dance, dramatics, fine arts, recitation, photography, jatrashilpa, film, creative organizer, cultural researcher and folklore. Of the 12 sectors, the award is given in seven sectors every year.