loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • BASIS SoftExpo 2019 begins Tuesday

  • PM unveils cover of book ‘Bangla Bhashar Bangabandhu’

  • Nur demands DUCSU reelection

  • PSG beat Marseille 3-1 at Ligue 1

  • Election to 116 Upazila Parishads Monday

'ICT sector will get priority in the upcoming budget'

'ICT sector will get priority in the upcoming budget'

Hon’ble Finance Minister Abul Maal Abdul Muhith has assured Bangladesh Association of Software and Information Services (BASIS) to prioritize ICT sector in this year’s (FY 2018-19) Budget. He assured this at a meeting took place between Finance Minister and BASIS Executive Council Members on Monday (May 21).

Several issues were highlighted in the meeting. The important issues were tax, VAT on Software and IT/ITES products and services, issuing Tax Exemption Certificate from NBR, resuming the process of EEF. Besides, BASIS emphasized on taking initiatives from the government encouraging local organizations to use locally developed software and IT services.

BASIS delegation assured the Finance Minister that, on the journey of building Digital Bangladesh BASIS will continue its cooperation with the government and with its stakeholders.

The Finance Minister listened to BASIS proposals carefully and assured to take necessary actions. He also said, development in the ICT Industry of Bangladesh has set a benchmark for other countries. In this development process BASIS has been working with government closely. This year’s budget will be IT business-friendly.

BASIS Senior Vice-President Farhana A Rahman said, BASIS submitted those proposals to Finance Minister for which ICT industries/companies were asking for a long time. Finance Minister has listened to us attentively. We hope BASIS proposals will be reflected in the upcoming budget.

BASIS delegation met the Finance Minister led by Farhana A Rahman. The other members of the delegation were Shoeb Ahmed Masud, Vice-President (Admin), Mushfiqur Rahman, Vice-President (Finance) and Directors Mustafa Rafiqul Islam and Didarul Alam.

(Press release)