loader image for Bangladeshinfo


  • Atalanta win Europa League title to end Leverkusen’s unbeaten run

  • Second U.S. dairy worker infected with bird flu

  • Bashundhara Kings clinch treble

  • Guardiola named Premier League Manager of the Year

  • USA stun Bangladesh in first T20

Gazette for 50 MPs in reserved seats for women published

Gazette for 50 MPs in reserved seats for women published

Bangladesh Election Commission on Tuesday (Feb 27) published a gazette notification detailing the names and addresses of the elected members of parliament (MPs) in the 50 reserved seats for women in the 12th Jatiyo Sangsad (National Parliament). Among the 50 MPs, 48 are from Bangladesh Awami League and its allies, and two are from Jatiyo Party, according to the notification.

All the 50 women MPs were elected to their seats uncontested. There was no any need for voting as only 50 candidates submitted nominations and no one withdrew their candidacy.

As per the existing law, the parliamentary seats reserved for women are distributed to the parties in proportion to the seats they have won in the general elections.

The gazette notification will be sent to the Jatiyo Sangsad Secretariat and later the secretariat will arrange the oath taking ceremony for the MPs.