loader image for Bangladeshinfo


  • Pinky only new face in Tigresses’ squad for T20 series

  • PSG beat Barca to reach Champions League semis

  • Dortmund sink Atletico to reach UCL semis

  • President for modern curriculums in universities

  • Rain likely in four divisions

Five women named as Rokeya Padak awardees

Five women named as Rokeya Padak awardees

Women and Children Affairs Ministry on Thursday (Dec 7) announced the names of five renowned women as Begum Rokeya Padak awardees in recognition of their contribution to various fields in the country this year. State Minister for Women and Children Affairs Fazilatun Nessa Indira named the five women at a press conference at Department of Information in Bangladesh Secretariat in the morning ahead of the Begum Rokeya Day to be held on Dec 9, local media reported.

The five awardees are – first woman Vice-Chancellor of Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology (BUET) Professor Khaleda Ekram (posthumous) of Dhaka for women education, Dr. Halida Hanum Akhter of Rangpur for establishing women's rights, Kamrunnesa Ashraf Dina of Netrakona district for socio-economic development of women (posthumous), Nishat Mazumder of Lakshmipur district for contributing to awakening of women and Ronita Bala of Thakurgaon for rural development.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will adorn them with the award at a function at Osmani Memorial Auditorium in Dhaka on Dec 9, the state minister said.

Fazilatun Nessa Indira said Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman ensured women's rights in the country's constitution in 1972. Bangabandhu formed a women rehabilitation board and had given dignity to the women, she said.

The present government under the dynamic leadership of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina acknowledged the Birangona women, who were violated by Pakistan occupation army in 1971, as valiant freedom fighters, she added.

The state minister also said her ministry is providing trainings on 35 different trades to 7 lakh women.