loader image for Bangladeshinfo


  • Arsenal beat Wolves 2-1, go four points clear

  • Gordon goal gives Newcastle win over Man Utd

  • Madrid return to top of LaLiga with Granada win

  • Euro 2024 group stage draw held

  • 2,712 aspirants to contest in 300 seats in JS polls

Australia stun India to win sixth Cricket World Cup

Australia stun India to win sixth Cricket World Cup

ICC Men's Cricket World Cup final, Ahmedabad:
India 240 all out (50 overs): Rahul 66 (107), Kohli 54 (63); Starc 3-55
Australia 241-4 (43 overs): Head 137 (120), Labuschagne 58 (110)
Australia won by six wickets

Australia clinched the cricket World Cup 2023 on Sunday (Nov 19) by defeating India by six wickets in the final match, consisting of 50 overs each side, staged in Ahmedabad, India. This victory marked the sixth time the Australians have won the world's biggest cricket tournament. Nearly 150,000 people attended the match at the Narendra Modi Stadium, with Indian Prime Minister Modi also in attendance among the spectators.

Australia stunned hosts India in Ahmedabad to win the men's Cricket World Cup for a sixth time.

Australia quietened the wild support from the 100,000-strong home crowd by dismissing their previously unbeaten opponents for 240 before Travis Head's sensational century meant they romped to victory with seven overs to spare.

After their bowlers expertly took advantage of a slow pitch, Australia were themselves reduced to 47-3 as India hit back in an electric new-ball spell.

But Head and Marnus Labuschagne calmly weathered the storm with a stand of 192 as Indian hope drifted away from the world's largest cricket stadium.

Head was caught for 137 from 120 balls with just two runs needed, but Glenn Maxwell flogged the winning runs a ball later while Labuschagne ended 58 not out from 110.

The superb victory means Australia extend their record as the most successful side in 50-over World Cup history and now sit four titles clear of the rest of the pack.

It also caps a six-month period in which they beat India to win the World Test Championship and retained the Ashes in England.

India, meanwhile, were left crestfallen as their bid for a first white-ball title since 2011 – an achievement which looked unstoppable as they made rampant progress through the semi-final and group stage – fell at the final hurdle.