loader image for Bangladeshinfo


  • ‘Mujib – The Making of a Nation’ to hit theatres Oct 13

  • 17th DU annual theatre festival begins Monday

  • Real Madrid go top of LaLiga

  • Japan to provide $1,500m more for Matarbari power plant

  • Martinez makes history with 4 goals as substitute

President returns home

President returns home

President Mohammed Shahabuddin returned home on Tuesday (Jun 6) wrapping up his six-day visit to Turkey to join the swearing-in ceremony of his Turkish counterpart Recep Tayyip Erdogan. A VVIP aircraft, carrying the President, his spouse Dr. Rebecca Sultana and other entourage members, landed at the Hazrat Shahjalal International Airport at 6:30 p.m. Liberation War Affairs Minister AKM Mozammel Haque, dean of diplomatic corps, cabinet secretary, chiefs of three services, Turkish ambassador to Bangladesh, secretary to the prime minister's office, senior secretary of home ministry's public security division, IGP and other senior civil and military officials received the President at the airport, local media reported.

Earlier, the Head of the State left Ankara Esenboga Airport in Turkey for Dhaka at 7:43 a.m. (Ankara time), where Bangladesh Ambassador to Turkey M Amanaul Haque, Turkish Foreign Ministry representative Ambassador Oya Tunga Cagli and Deputy Governor of Ankara Murat Soylu and senior officials concerned saw the President off at the airport.

On Jun 1 night, the President left Dhaka for Ankara to attend the swearing-in ceremony of Turkey's President Recep Tayyip Erdogan at the Grand National Assembly in Ankara.

President's Press Secretary Md Joynal Abedin, who travelled with the President, earlier told National News Agency of Bangladesh that the leaders of 77 countries of the world attended the swearing-in ceremony. Representatives of international organizations including NATO and Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) were also present on the occasion.

Bangladesh President greeted Turkish President and joined a photo session there. Both the Presidents exchanged pleasantries.

Turkish leader Erdogan was sworn in for a third consecutive term as the President.