loader image for Bangladeshinfo


  • Arsenal cruise past Palace to go eight points clear

  • Bayern loss leaves Dortmund top of Bundesliga

  • PSG's long unbeaten run at home ended by Rennes

  • Rybakina beats Sabalenka to win Indian Wells title

  • Barca snatch dramatic El Clasico win over Real

By-election to Gaibandha-5 constituency on Wednesday

By-election to Gaibandha-5 constituency on Wednesday

The by-election to Gaibandha-5 constituency (Fulchhari-Saghata) will be held on Wednesday (Jan 4) amid tight security. Election materials, including EVMs, handed over to the presiding officers on Tuesday morning. Presiding officers and concerned officials reached the respective polling centers before noon, local media reported.

A total of 3,39,743 voters, including 1,69,575 male, will cast their votes at 145 centres under 17 unions of the upazilas, sources added.

Four candidates are participating in the polls, said Syed Abu Sayeed, Saghata upazila election officer. They are: Zahangir Hossain (Bikolpa Dhara), Syed Mahbubur Rahman (Independent), Mahmud Hasan Ripon (Awami League) and Golam Shaheed Ranju (Jatiyo Party).

District Election Officer Abdul Mottaleb said preparations have been completed to hold the by-polls in the constituency peacefully.

The seat felt vacant following the death Deputy Speaker Adv Fazle Rabbi Miah.