loader image for Bangladeshinfo


  • China rolls back strict Covid rules

  • Asian Art Biennale Bangladesh ‘22 kicks off on Thursday

  • Morocco stun Spain on penalties to reach quarter-finals

  • Ronaldo replacement Ramos stars as Portugal advance

  • Bento leaves South Korea post after World Cup exit

Shahadab Akbar takes oath as MP

Shahadab Akbar takes oath as MP

Shahadab Akbar, the newly elected Member of Parliament (MP) from the Faridpur-2 constituency, took the oath at the Jatiyo Sangsad Bhaban on Tuesday (Nov 15). Jatiyo Sangsad Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the oath to Akbar, elected in the by-poll with the ruling Bangladesh Awami League's nomination.

Secretary of the Parliament Secretariat KM Abdus Salam conducted the swearing-in ceremony, said a press release in the evening.

Parliament Whips – Iqbalur Rahim and Abu Sayeed Al Mahmood Swapon and adhering senior officials, were present.

After taking the oath, Akbar signed the oath book as part of the traditional ceremony for the lawmakers, the release added.

Faridpur-2 constituency fell vacant following the death of Deputy Leader of the Parliament Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury on Sep 11.