loader image for Bangladeshinfo


  • Argentina's unbeaten run reaches 35

  • Brazil thrash Tunisia 5-1

  • Spain snatch Nations League semis spot from Portugal

  • ‘Tigresses to give 110% to retain Asia Cup title’

  • Tigers thrash UAE to sweep T20 series

Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury laid to eternal rest

Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury laid to eternal rest

Octogenarian politician and Jatiyo Sangsad Deputy Leader Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury, who died at a city hospital on Sunday night at the age of 87, was laid to eternal rest at Banani Graveyard in Dhaka on Monday (Sep 12) with state honor, local media reported.

On behalf of Dhaka district administration, a contingent of police gave a guard of honor to valiant freedom fighter and veteran politician Sajeda Chowdhury, also Bangladesh Awami League Presidium Member, recalling her role in 1971 Liberation War before her burial at 6.15 p.m. at the graveyard.

Awami League General Secretary and Road Transport and Bridges Minister Obaidul Quader along with the party's central leaders and Dhaka city north mayor Atiqul Islam were present on the occasion.

Earlier, her second Namaj-e-Janaza was held at south gate of Baitul Mukarram National Mosque after Asr prayers. People of all strata of life joined the Janaza.

To allow the people to pay their last tributes to the veteran politician, her body was kept at the Central Shaheed Minar in Dhaka at 3 p.m. On behalf of the President Md. Abdul Hamid and the Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, tributes were paid to her by placing wreaths on her coffin. Later, Parliament Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury and Deputy Speaker Shamsul Haque Tuku laid wreaths on her coffin.

Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader along with party's central leader paid glowing tributes to the seasoned politician by laying a wreath on her coffin. Later, Foreign Minister AK Abdul Momen, 14-party alliance, Workers Party President Rashed Khan Menon, Dhaka University Vice-Chancellor Professor Md Akhtaruzzaman, State Minister for Shipping Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury and State Minister for Women and Children Affairs Fazilatun Nessa Indira also paid tributes to her on the occasion.

Awami League Dhaka City north and south units, Chhatra League, Jubo League, Bangladesh Mahila Parishad, Bangabandhu Ainjibi Parishad, Jatiya Kabita Parishad, Sector Commanders Forum, Mohila Muktijoddha Sangsad, Bangladesh Agricultural Economist Association President Sajjadul Hassan and BNP Organising Secretary Shama Obayed, Samyabadi Dal, Ganatantri Party, Dhaka University Alumni Association, Bangladesh Abritti Samonnoy Parishad, also paid tributes to the veteran politician.

Earlier, her body was taken to her constituency Faridpur-2 from where she was elected parliament member for several times.

Her first Namaj-e-Janaza was held at Government Mahendra Narayan Academy ground in Nagarkanda upazila of the district at 11 a.m. Awami League Organising Secretary Mirza Azam, district AL President Shamim Haque and General Secretary Shah Md Ishtiaque Arif were present, among others.

Her body was taken to Awami League's Bangabandhu Avenue Central Office in the capital at 4.18 p.m. to allow the party leaders and workers to have last glimpse of her. Awami League general secretary and other central leaders were present. They laid tributes to her. Leaders of different associate bodies also paid tribute to her.

Sajeda Chowdhury was admitted to Combined Military Hospital (CMH) after her health condition became critical last week, where she breathed her last around 11:40 p.m. Sunday.

Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury was born on May 8 in 1935. The veteran politician joined the politics of Awami League in 1956. After the assassination of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman and most of his family members on Aug 15 in 1975, she played an important role in keeping the Awami League organized at a critical moment.

In 1976, Sajeda Chowdhury became the Awami League's acting general secretary. Later, she was the party's full general secretary from 1986 to 1992. Before that, she was the general secretary of Mohila Awami League from 1969 to 1975.