loader image for Bangladeshinfo


  • Argentina's unbeaten run reaches 35

  • Brazil thrash Tunisia 5-1

  • Spain snatch Nations League semis spot from Portugal

  • ‘Tigresses to give 110% to retain Asia Cup title’

  • Tigers thrash UAE to sweep T20 series

DUCS awards 10 students for writing letter to Bangabandhu

DUCS awards 10 students for writing letter to Bangabandhu

Ten students have been awarded for writing letters to Bangabandhu in an event 'Dear Bangabandhu' marking National Mourning Day and 47th martyrdom anniversary of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.

Books and certificates were given to the winners at a prize giving ceremony at the RC Majumdar Arts Auditorium, said a press release on Friday (Aug 26).

Dhaka University Cultural Society (DUCS) arranged the letter writing competition on Bangabandhu to pay tribute to Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.

The award winners from senior group were Sushil Malakar, Shaihainu Marma, Ratul Chowdhury, Amiya Bhowmik Palak and Kaniz Fatima Kanika while Ayesha Chiddika Tasmi, Surya Kumar Sheel, Ronit Adhikari, Samiha Khan and Fatin Hasnat were awarded in junior group.

In this competition, out of 490 letters from different parts of the country, 10 people, 5 each in the senior and junior categories, were announced as winners.

Ekushey Padak winning journalist and Director General of Press Institute of Bangladesh (PIB) Zafar Wazed presented the keynote speech on the occasion with DUCS Moderator Sabrina Sultana Chowdhury in the chair.

Senior journalist Mozammel Hossain (Manju), Samakal acting editor Ratan Siddiqui, science teacher of Vinodpur Ramkumar High School, Munshiganj Hriday Chandra Mandal, DUCS President Sadia Ashrafi Thizbee and General Secretary Joy Das also addressed the program as special guests.

In the competition, participants were supposed to write their feelings about Bangabandhu under the title 'Dear Bangabandhu' within 1,500 words to take part in the competition.

The competition was open to all which consisted of two sections – junior group for primary to secondary school students and senior group for higher secondary to upper graders.