loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • EC to allocate poll symbols Monday

  • 5 women receive Begum Rokeya Padak 2018

  • Salah hat-trick sends Liverpool to top

  • Messi double as Barca beat Espanyol

  • Mexican volunteer crowned Miss World

New executive committee of e-CAB elected

New executive committee of e-CAB elected

The election of the executive body of the e-Commerce Association of Bangladesh (e-CAB) for the term of 2018-20 was held on Monday (Jan 1). Shomi Kaiser has been elected as the President and Rejwanul Haque Jami as the new Vice-President, while the former General Secretary Abdul Wahed Tomal has been re-elected as the General Secretary, said a press release.

The other portfolios of the Board include Mohammad Abdul Haque as Finance Secretary, Nasima Akter as Joint Secretary and Rajib Ahmed, Ashish Chakraborty and Sahabuddin and Tanvir Ahmed Mishuk as Directors.

The e-CAB started its voyage in 2015 with a broader vision and objective to identify the challenges and provide recommendations on solutions to address those challenges and thus develop the e-Commerce sector of Bangladesh through setting up bridges connecting the global e-Commerce system. Already a total number of 700 companies have been enlisted as members with the e-CAB, the increase of which is on the upfront.

Since the beginning, the e-CAB has been working hard with the GOB and relevant international organizations to coordinate and advance the universal interests of member companies, create a credible e-commerce friendly environment, increase investments to the e-commerce sector.

During the passage of time, the e-CAB has already successfully been able to undertake effective initiatives with the government and different e-Commerce business enterprises, entrepreneurs and relevant others with a view to advancing the development process of country’s e-Commerce sector.

The association in coordination of the GOB has already accomplished the final draft of National e-Commerce Policy. Apart from that it has been working with Bangladesh Post Office and the A2i Programme of the Office of Prime Minister to spread the e-Commerce delivery services up to root level throughout the country.

The Chairman of the Election Board Mustafa Jabbar, Member Kamrul Islam and Mohammad Iqbal Jamal executed the entire election process and broke out the results in compliance with the schedule of the election, the release added.