loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • PM inaugurates Toshakhana Museum

  • Dhaka Test: Tigers rout Zimbabwe by 218 runs

  • Inter Milan stun Spurs with two late goals

  • NEC approves Delta Plan 2100

Smartcards distribution in 27 districts begins Friday

Smartcards distribution in 27 districts begins Friday

Bangladesh Election Commission is expanding its smartcard distribution to the district level. Chief Election Commissioner KM Nurul Huda will inaugurate the distribution work in the Sadar Upazilas via a videoconference from the Election Bhaban in Agargaon on Friday (Dec 1).

Voters will get smartcards in districts, more than a year after distribution began in Dhaka.  Currently, smartcard distribution is going on in 10 city corporations too, according to Election Commission.

The National Identity Registration Wing has sent smartcards to 27 Sadar Upazilas. The necessary fingerprint equipment, scanners and iris machines have been put in place at the local election offices for the distribution process. The distribution will be handled by the district administration and election officials.

Faridpur region: Gopalganj's Tungipara and Shariatpur Sadar

Chittagong region: Bandarban Sadar, Khagrachhari Sadar, Cox's Bazar Sadar and Rangamati Sadar

Barisal region: Pirojpur Sadar, Patuakhali Sadar, Jhalakathi Sadar and Borguna Sadar

Khulna region: Meherpur Sadar, Bagerhat Sadar, Narail Sadar

Sylhet region: Habiganj Sadar and Sunamganj Sadar

Rajshahi region: Bogra Sadar, Joypurhat Sadar and Pabna Sadar

Mymensingh region: Netrokona Sadar

Rangpur region: Kurigram Sadar, Lalmonirhat Sadar, Panchagarh Sadar, Gaibandha Sadar, Nilphamari Sadar, Dinajpur Sadar and Thakurgaon Sadar

Comilla region: Noakhali Sadar

Initially, the EC had considered not starting the distribution in the Gaibandha Sadar, Nilphamari Sadar, Nilphamari Sadar, Dinajpur Sadar and Thakurgaon Sadar regions due to the upcoming Rangpur polls, but it decided to go ahead when no problems arose, Ashiqur Rahman said.

The smartcard distribution initially began in the two Dhaka divisions and in Kurigram’s defunct enclaves before serially expanding to the Chittagong, Rajshahi, Khulna, Barisal, Sylhet, Rangpur, Comilla, Narayanganj and Gazipur city corporations.

Currently Bangladesh has 101.8 million voters on its list. The number will rise to 104.6 million after new voters are added and dead voters are purged from the lists for the upcoming eleventh parliamentary elections.

It was learnt that, the EC plans to expand distribution to the remaining districts in February so all voters can have their cards for the upcoming election.