loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • JSC, JDC, PEC, Ebtedayee results on Dec 24

  • National Election campaign begins

  • PM, others replace technocrats

  • 5 women receive Begum Rokeya Padak 2018

  • Salah hat-trick sends Liverpool to top

Tigers beat West Indies in 2nd T20I

Tigers beat West Indies in 2nd T20I

Powered by half-centuries from Tamim Iqbal and Shakib Al Hasan which was backed up by an excellent final over from Nazmul Islam, Bangladesh won the second T20I against the West Indies by 12 runs to tie the series at one apiece ahead of the series-decider at Lauderhill tomorrow.

Bangladesh beat West Indies by 12 runs in a Twenty20 international cricket match on Saturday (Aug 4) to level a three-match series at one apiece. 

The Tigers won the toss and batted and made 5-171. Their bowlers made regular breakthroughs to restrict the West Indies to 9-159 in reply.

Bangladesh's victory was built on a 90-run partnership between Tamim Iqbal and captain Shakib Al Hasan, who came together with their innings faltering after the loss of early wickets.

West Indies spinner Ashley Nurse (2-25) took wickets in consecutive overs at the start of the Bangladesh innings before seamer Keemo Paul (2-39) dismissed Soumya Sarkar for 18 to leave the visitors at 3-48 in the eighth over.

Shakib, 60 off 38 balls, then joined Tamim, 74 from 44 balls, to steady the innings for Bangladesh.

The West Indies made a shaky start to their innings losing Evin Lewis lbw to Mustafizer Rahman in the second over.

Mustafizer (3-50) took the wicket of Andre Russell caught behind for 17 in the fourth over, before experienced duo of Marlon Samuels and Dinesh Ramdin departed cheaply to leave West Indies at 4-58.

Andre Fletcher and Rovman Powell, 43 from 34, combined for a 48-run stand before spinner Nazmul Islam had Fletcher (43 from 38 balls) caught by Shakib to end the revival.

Nazmul (3-28) took the wickets of Nurse and Paul in the final over to secure the series-leveling victory for Bangladesh, after they lost the first game by seven wickets.