loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • PM inaugurates Toshakhana Museum

  • Dhaka Test: Tigers rout Zimbabwe by 218 runs

  • Inter Milan stun Spurs with two late goals

  • NEC approves Delta Plan 2100

11 jailed for Sheikh Hasina murder attempt

11 jailed for Sheikh Hasina murder attempt

11 persons were awarded 20 years’ imprisonment each for attempting to assassinate Bangladesh Awami League President Sheikh Hasina in 1989.

A Dhaka court has jailed 11 Freedom Party members, including Bangabandhu assassin Abdur Rashid, for 20 years each for an assassination attempt on Bangladesh Awami League President and present Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina in 1989.

The decision was announced by the Dhaka Fourth Additional Metropolitan Sessions Judge's Court on Sunday (Oct 29), local media reports said.

On the night of Aug 10, 1989, attackers hurled bombs and opened fire on Awami League chief's house at Dhanmondi 32. She was at home at the time. Following the incident, Zahurul Islam, a security guard of the residence, filed two cases -- one for plotting to kill Hasina and the other for hurling bombs -- with Dhanmondi Police Station.

The investigators identified leaders and activists of the Freedom Party, founded by the self-proclaimed assassins of Hasina's father Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, involved in the attack.

In 1997, eight years after the attack, the Criminal Investigation Department (CID) pressed charges against 19 people including Freedom Party leaders and Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman's murderers Syed Farooq Rahman, Sultan Shahriar Rashid and Bazlul Huda.

On Jul 5, 2009, charges were framed against 16 accused. Four of the accused -- Sohel alias Freedom Sohel, Golam Sarwar Mamun, Joj Miah and Syed Nazmul Maksud Murad -- are currently in jail.

Four other accused -- Humayun Kabir, Mizanur Rahman, Khandokar Amirul Islam and Md Shahjahan alias Balu -- were freed on bail.

Two others -- Zafar Ahmed and H Kabir -- are absconding while two other accused -- Gazi Liakat Hossain and Rezaul Islam Khan -- died before.

Syed Farooq Rahman, Sultan Shahriar Rashid and Bazlul Huda were executed in the Bangabandhu murder case.

Earlier, the court recorded statements of 12 prosecution witnesses including that of the complainant and investigation officer of the case.