loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • Vitamin ‘A’ capsules in DNCC Saturday

  • Ronaldo header wins Supercoppa for Juve

  • Bowlers snatch victory for Rajshahi

  • BPL: Sylhet record second win

  • HC clears way to hold DNCC by-election

Six cricketers lose BCB contract

Six cricketers lose BCB contract

Bangladesh Cricket Board on Wednesday (Apr 18) dropped six cricketers, including opening batsmen Soumya Sarkar and Imrul Kayes, from the contract as it deemed their performance was not satisfactory in the past one year. The four other players to lose the contract are —  Mosaddek Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Taskin Ahmed and Kamrul Islam Rabbi. Among them, Sabbir was already excluded from contract on a disciplinary ground. The decision was finalised in the third meeting of BCB’s board of directors in Mirpur, local media reports said.

A total of 10 players have retained their contract but the BCB decided against raising their salaries. The players, who have retained their contract, are —  Shakib al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mashrafee bin Murtaza, Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudullah, Mominul Haque, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman Taijul Islam, and Mehedi Hasan.

BCB also decided to add three rookie players in the contract, though their name were not finalised.

During the meeting, the BCB also decided to review the contract of first-class cricketers.