loader image for Bangladeshinfo

Breaking News

  • NZ beat Pakistan by 4-run in 1st Test

  • 'Ronaldo still part of Portugal squad'

  • Spain beat Bosnia-Herzegovina in friendly

  • Country’s first ‘smart school’ starts in Chuadanga

  • Netherlands into UEFA Nations League finals

12 get Bangla Academy Literary Award 2017

12 get Bangla Academy Literary Award 2017

Twelve personalities have been declared as recipients of the Bangla Academy Sahitya Puraskar (Literary Award) 2017. Director General of Bangla Academy Shamsuzzaman Khan announced the names at a press briefing at the Shamsur Rehman auditorium on Saturday (Jan 27), local media reports said.

The recipients are - Mohammad Sadik and Maruful Islam (poetry), Mamun Hossain (fiction), Professor Mahbubul Haque (essay), Professor Rafiqullah Khan (research), Aminur Rahman Bhuiyan (translation), Kamrul Hasan Bhuiyan and Surma Jahid (literature on Liberation War), Shakur Majid (biography and travelogue), Maloy Bhoumik (drama), Moshtak Ahmed (science, technology and environment) and Jhrana Dash Purokhayshto (juvenile literature).

The winners will receive a cheque of Tk 1 each lakh this year.

Bangla Academy Shahitya Puroshkar (Bangla Academy Literary Award), is given by the Bangla Academy of Bangladesh in recognition of creative genius in advancement and overall contribution in the field of Bengali language and literature.

It was introduced in 1960 and recognised six categories: poetry, novels, short stories, essays, juvenile literature and translation. Beginning in 1985, two more awards were introduced to recognise overall contributions to Bengali language and literature.